Quote from article:
When you delete a term from the Term Store it is permanently gone from
the Term Store; however, if you had any documents or items tagged
against it, they will not lose that Term (metadata) until the next
time a user tries to tag a record (at which point the user will need
to choose a new Term)
Refer to the following article about ...