0

Why does SharePoint create a 'Workflow Users' group automatically? I've noticed that this group doesn't appear when any workflow is created, it's only created when a specific type of workflow is created. Does anyone know what circumstances triggers this group to be created by SharePoint?

1
  • What happens if I delete those groups?
    – user45432
    Commented Aug 26, 2015 at 15:13

1 Answer 1

2

A little bit of google-fu gave me the answer:

We discovered that the cause is the 'Add Permissions' action in SharePoint designer. It does this to ensure users have 'Limited Access' permissions to the parent library, site, etc.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/e9dcdbef-0401-4268-9b2a-a3490379641b/what-prompts-sharepoint-to-create-a-sitename-workflow-users-group-automatically?forum=sharepointcustomizationprevious

2
  • Do you know how 'Add Permissions' action is activated? What Condition / Action? As 'Add permission' is not a default action in SharePoint designer.
    – Haz
    Commented May 1, 2014 at 11:12
  • 'Add Permissions' is a Standard Action. It is only available inside a 'User-Impersonation Step'
    – user51825
    Commented Mar 1, 2016 at 7:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.