0

When I click on the gear icon, and site permissions, then there is a popup pane on right hand side.

Here when I click Add members I get two options:

  1. Add members to group
  2. Share site only

What's the difference between these two?

1 Answer 1

0

See: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/modern-experience-sharing-permissions

When you add members to a group, the users permissions will be determined by the group you add them to.

When you share site only is useful to give someone access to the site without giving them the additional permissions that come with group membership.

2
  • But when I give someone access to site, then does it mean the user becomes owner, or memeber or visitor?
    – variable
    Feb 28 at 16:26
  • No, you can choose when granting permissions, whether to grant specific permissions or add them to a group. Mar 8 at 8:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.