I have publish a Infopath form (2010) into a SharePoint 2007 server library. I notice that the rules that I set on the Infopath form seem to be not working. When I open the Infopath form and select form load to inspect the rules that I set, I notice that some of them are no longer visible.

Please advise. (I was wondering if it is a different version that is causing the problem or Infopath rules for form load is limited to a number, say 5.?)

enter image description here

1 Answer 1



I notice that if I edit the Infopath form on Infopath 2007, it seems that the rules for the load form will be visible if created.

This look like a bug. Here are the steps below that will lead you to the bug:

Step 1: Open the infopath form in Infopath 2010 and create 6 rules for Form Load and Save it as a file.

Step 2: Open that infopath form that you created in Step 1 in InfoPath 2010 and go to the Form Load section. You will only see the first 5 rules. The 6th rules that you created for Step 1 will just "vanish". Now, close that infopath form.

Step 3: Open that infopath form that you created in step 1 in InfoPath 2007 and select Tools > Form Option. In the Open and Save category, click the Rules button and add a new rule in it and save it.

Step 4: Open that infopath form that you modify as describe in Step 3 in InfoPath 2010. That 6th rule will be visible.

Therefore, there might be a bug in InfoPath 2010 that restrict Rules to a max of 5 in Form Load and thus if anyone open that form in SharePoint, only the first 5 rules will be executed.

However, I would still need someone from the community to confirm my findings for the bug is true or false. Thanks.

  • I would have checked it if I understood why would one want 6+ rules with one action instaead of one rule with 6+ actions on Form Load? Aug 29, 2012 at 6:14
  • Yes, definitely I wish to have one rule with 6+ actions but the problem is that I have 6+ different conditions which result in my creating 6+ different rules. In my case, each rule require one action each and so I can say that I just "hit the jackpot".
    – Jack
    Aug 30, 2012 at 5:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.