I am having the following problem - I have a SP site and I have a corresponding Site Visitor's Group (default one, created by SP). The Visitor`s Group has Read permissions. But when I add someone to it, that person is automatically being added to the Site Member's Group, which is giving him Edit permission. I have tried different approaches:
In that right hand-side panel, that appears when you click on "Site permissions", the people in question are at the same time in the Site visitors and in the Site members Group. Changing from "Edit" to "Read" in the Site members group or trying to remove them from it, removes them from the Site visitors group as well.
If I go to Advanced permission settings, the Site Members Group is actually empty. The people are to be seen in the Site Visitors Group.
Please help me, this is driving me mad!