I used to remember that if you stop inheriting permissions from top and display automatic link in current navigation of a library, the users that have been removed should NOT see the library link at all. Now they can see the library link but when they click on it they see empty library. I expected the access denied page but no, just the library without any content (they can see however all metadata columns).
Am I remembering wrong or something has changed? The only way to 'hide' the URL is to use Audience targeting in Settings - Navigation?
I am using a classic site.