1

I was under the impression that if a user does not have permission to see user details and count permissions they would not be able to see the "Shared with".

I'm not really a fan of hiding it using CSS/Javascript, so any other suggestions are more than wellcome!

1

Unfortinately that's not possible. You could remove the option to see User Information, but it won't remove the button. Your only option is the ugly implementation of display: none;.

Reference: How to remove the shared with or email to everyone buttons

EDIT:

Go to Settings -> Site Settings -> Site Permissions -> Permission Level. Select the permission level and uncheck option "Browse User Information - View information about users of the website". Once done login with the user who has been granted that permission level and then try to access "Shared With". The user will get access denied error.

6
  • I'm ok with the button being there if the actual list is empty, but that does not seem to be the case :-( – Morten K Nov 12 '18 at 13:46
  • @MortenK Does a "Access denied error" work for you? See edited answer – Benny Skogberg Nov 12 '18 at 13:48
  • 1
    Yup that would be fine - if only that worked. I have made a custom permission, granted the external users the permission level. But they are still able to browse all users any item they have acces to are shared with! – Morten K Nov 12 '18 at 13:50
  • Thinking about it a bit more, could it be caused by the user also having the "Limited access" permission as i grant the user direct access to a library? Scratch that - I grant the users my custom permission to site level. – Morten K Nov 12 '18 at 13:57
  • The limited access only apply to the site itself when you break inheritance. I don't think that's the answer to your question... en.share-gate.com/blog/what-is-sharepoint-limited-access – Benny Skogberg Nov 12 '18 at 14:01
0

I had a heureka moment with a bit of help from @4rchit3ct

Making a custom permission and removing the "Browse User Information - View information about users of the website" from it. This isn't the whole story though, you would also need to make sure"Limited-access user permission lockdown mode" is activated.

Now it works as expected!

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.