I find myself publishing pages instead of checking them in over my website.
I know Check In and Check Out controls the editing documents and versions to avoid overwriting and file control and is visible only by those who have editing permissions
I know publishing publishes whatever the asset is - image, page, document, site etc. to a published major or minor version.
What I notice is if I publish it appears to do both - Check In the file and Publish the changes (according to the required need - major or minor).
What I would like to know are there implications if I do not check the page in - if I only publish? From the surface it does not appear apparent.