I had this event happening to me. 2 different sites collections. One item has been deleted from one and it went straight to the second level recycle bin. The other site collection correctly placed it in the first recycle bin.
Is there a setting that controls how much time an item stays in the first level recycle bin? Also, I have read on blogs that an item stays in the second level bin for 93 days, is this correct?