I am unable to publish a SharePoint 2010 workflow due to the following error: “Could not publish the workflow because the workflow configuration file contains errors.”
Several posts suggest deactivating and then re-activating the Workflow Features. https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/sharepoint/en-US/8333b2c0-ca4d-4e5f-a1bc-a37926d530bd/sharepoint-designer-workflow-error-errors-were-found-while-compiling-the-workflow?forum=sharepointgeneralprevious
However prior to doing this I get the standard warning "If you deactivate this feature, any user data or customisations associated with this feature might be lost. In addition, any active features that depend on this feature might fail to function."
Am I safe to deactivate this and re-activate. I don't want to impact the production environment.