3

I've been having difficulty finding an answer to this question.

When I delete an Office 365 user account (and their license), it warns me that their data will be deleted as well. Does this include documents & files that they've created in SharePoint Online Sites, or will they be kept?

Thanks.

3

No. Removing a user will not remove their files they created on SharePoint sites that are not their OneDrive. Eventually, after 30 days, their person site , which contains their OneDrive, will be purged. In addition to the article mentioned earlier, see also this article: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2619308

2

Apparently they are purged after 30 days. See https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/kb/3042522 for some background and useful information.

Cheers

  • Just to clarify, I'm talking about files they've put on to Team Sites, where the Site itself wasn't created by them. Not their own "personal" site. I had a read through that page, but it doesn't seem to say anything about this. – LaVache Feb 9 '16 at 23:23
  • OIC, I thought you meant their personal one-drive for business site. Sorry nothing but guesses and assumptions about the latter. Would find it very hard to believe that files in team sites would be purged! – Levi Feb 10 '16 at 15:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.