We are using Sharepoint Online 2013. Versioning is activated and functional.
I upload a document to SharePoint.
I modify a local copy of the document and upload it again overwriting the old document.
The document ID of the document has changed! I. e. the "old" document was deleted (I can find it in the recycle bin) and a new document with the same name was created.
Is this the intended process? This is a great issue for us. We have people working with OneDrive and on mobile computers. It happens all the time that documents are modified locally and then uploaded again. Our intention is that these uploaded documents just create a new version of the original file while keeping the original document ID.
Renaming files retains the document ID.
I cannot find any configuration settings that could influence this behaviour. How is this feature working for you?