0

We are running an enterprise wiki site collection, now to improve contributions we have defined all users as Contributors to the wiki site, so they can add, edit, delete any wiki pages. And we have restricted certain people with the permission to approve. But we have run into a problem is that contributor users can (intentionally or by mistake) delete any wiki page, even if they are not the creator. So can I force this restriction on the wiki page deletion:-

  1. Site collection admin & Approver users can delete any wiki page.

  2. Contributor user can only delete a wiki page if he is the creator & its version number is 3 or less .version 3 means that the wiki page have been created but never modified by any user.

Can anyone advice on this please? Thanks

2

You can create a custom permission level that does not allow deleting. You'd essentially copy contribute and deselect the delete option. This solves point 1.

For point 2, there isn't really anything that handles this. Item level security settings on lists comes close, but it isn't fully what you need and isn't available in libraries. You'd probably need to roll an event receiver on item deleting and handle logic there.

  • but if i simply remove the delete permission from the Contributor group,, then if a user by mistake add a wiki page then he will not be able to delete ... – john Gu May 21 '15 at 14:55
  • 1
    There isn't really a permission model to handle what you want. This is about the best you can do without rolling your own in an event receiver. – Eric Alexander May 21 '15 at 15:05
  • ok now i created a copy of the contribute permission level (named it CustomCont), and i un-check the DeleteItem & DeleteVersion check boxes from it. then i assign the "Site Members" group the new permission level (CustomCont) instead of the Contribute. so now the Delete link will be disabled for the Site Member group. but after doing so when contributor users tried to edit the "Page Properties" and they click on save they will receive an error that this list has not been shared with you. – john Gu May 21 '15 at 15:15
  • now if i return the permission to its old setting , then site Memebers can edit the page properties again. so why un-chekcing the Delete permission level, will prevent users from modifying the page properties !!! do u have any idea ? – john Gu May 21 '15 at 15:16
  • It might depend on what properties they are trying to delete. If they are renaming the page, that could be constituted as a delete and prevent it. – Eric Alexander May 21 '15 at 15:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.