When I go to checkout out a file, sometimes a previous user has forgotten to check the file back in and I have the option to override their checkout. When doing that, are the changes the previous user made saved or discarded?
Overriding checkout will remove the lock and assign the checkout user data to your name.
Nothing will get Saved/Discarded (These changes are available in the previously checked out user's computer).
You risk losing any changes made by previous user that were not saved.