1

I ran across something that I have nevertheless experienced using a document library. Normally in a document library if a document is checked out the document is still visible on the list, however, the end-user will not be able to make any changes unless checked back in. However, I come across where documents are checked out, however, their not visible on the list until checked in. Has anyone ever notice this? Is there a setting that needs to be changed? I checked to make sure there were no filters. Also, grouping not turned on and the style is default. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

4

This is the default for items that have NEVER been checked in. There happens when someone uploads an item without filling in required metadata (usually through windows explorer)

There is a view for administrators inside the library settings area specifically to locate these items.

  • Thank you for your help. If I use the admin checked out page located inside the library settings if the enduser made changes will be the changes be lost? Thanks! – SharePoint Lady Jul 7 '14 at 18:30
  • If you take ownership and check them in, no. If you delete them, obviously yes. – Aboba Jul 7 '14 at 18:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.