Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I reset a page layout to its site definition by right-clicking the page layout name in SP Designer 2010, choosing Reset to Site Definition, Clicking Yes on the warning that pops up, the warning icon remains. (A backup of the customised page is created). What is going on - has the reset worked?

Hope someone can help - I can't find anything on the web about this.

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

up vote 1 down vote accepted

I also have faced this issue; doing an IIS reset seemed to fix the problem.

share|improve this answer
1  
Welcome to SharePoint.SE! While this could potentially answer the question, we encourage more than one line answers. You can edit your answer by clicking the edit link. –  Kit Menke Jul 14 '11 at 13:40
add comment

This happens if you have Web Parts defined in your Page Layout. As soon as the Page Layout gets deployed, the Web Parts are being extracted out of the Page Layout and managed by the Web Parts Framework. Because the Page Layout gets modified in this process, the "unghosted" status remains.

Other explanations can be an incorrect @Page-Header or following property in the page header that SharePoint Designer creates: meta:progid="SharePoint.WebPartPage.Document"

share|improve this answer
add comment

What I have seen is that the page is not reverted back to the site definition if the icon still appears.

The only way I was able to fix this was to rename the page using the windows explorer view of the master page gallery. I then deactivated and reactivated the feature that put the layout in the gallery in the first place.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.