Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I cannot find any documentation to support this, but in practice it seems that running incremental user profile AD syncs does NOT mark missing users for deletion.

Running a full sync however will mark profiles for deletion, and those profiles will then get removed the next time MySite Cleanup job runs.

So according to my testing if we only ever run incremental syncs then old users will never get removed. Seem a bit odd. Is this the behaviour that others are seeing?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

Quotes from relevant source:

http://www.harbar.net/archive/2011/02/10/account-deletion-and-sharepoint-2010-user-profile-synchronization.aspx

..during the first incremental synchronization after the accounts are deleted from AD, the user profiles will be marked for deletion in the Profile database.

In order to actually delete the profiles, we must run the My Site Cleanup Timer job. This job will purge the profiles marked fordeletion ...

+1 for Spencer Hrabar.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.