Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know that I can create Contribute without delete permission level.

Now suppose I create a discussion board and give users this permission level. When they connect this list to Outlook, they are still able to delete the item in their Outlook.

What happens in this scenario ? Will the item not get deleted from SharePoint?

I am using sharepoint 2010.

share|improve this question
    
Just try it out and get back to us! This is an interesting question –  Robert Lindgren May 1 '13 at 14:29
    
I tried it, but I am getting confusing results. It gets deleted from outlook, but not sharepoint. And then if I sync again, nothing happens. Ideally, it should again sync back to Outlook. –  Madhur Ahuja May 2 '13 at 6:37
    
Maybee Outlook have somehow the item saved as deleted, and hence ignores it on an new sync –  Robert Lindgren May 2 '13 at 6:48

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.