when i upgraded our environment from 2007 to 2010 it seems everyones profiles came with it. I did a cutover upgrade so i would have thought that any profiles in my 2007 environment would have been deleted. after the upgrade i noticed every ones infomation still existed like old descriptions that the user manually put in and links to there mysites. I have configured and reconfigured the profile sync service but it will not get rid of these profiles. Everynight a sync runs and AD changes are updated for the users so i know the service is working.
Its wierd because when i delete a users profile from the site collection and from central admin the users can still log in and all the data still shows. but if i look for the account it does not exist.
Can anyone explain what might be going on. I actually would like to completly wipe out all profiles and do fresh sync becuase we do not use mysites or allow manually editing anymore.