Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Currently we are going through a process of moving our users from one active directory OU to another OU within the same forest.

The issue that is now becoming apparent is that the users that have been moved aren't being sync'd with the user profile sync service, and thus, being removed from the user profile database and all their associated data within mysites etc, being lost!

The new OU seems to be selected for syncing within the service, as well as the old OU

At the moment the sync service is set to incremental sync

Any help or advice would be great!

share|improve this question
    
Can you please share your findings? Even I have changed the OU and lost the user profiles... Were you able to get the user profile data ? Thanks Ajay Sawant –  user7777 Apr 9 '12 at 15:09
add comment

2 Answers 2

First, you can prevent MySite deletion by disabling the MySite Cleanup Job. Validate that the user sync'ing the OU has Replicate Directory Changes on the new target OU.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Trevor, I'll have a word with our network guys –  SPdaus Mar 23 '12 at 16:09
    
Had a word with out network guys and checked AD, the service account has 'Replicate Directory Changes' checked for the whole AD. Just waiting going to wait on the sync over the weekend and see what happens, will report back then –  SPdaus Mar 23 '12 at 16:46
add comment

When you set up the synchronization connection, you probably restricted it to a specific OU. This is not a big deal to fix (outside of the deletion of mysites, of course!).

Central Administration -> Application Management -> Manage Service Applications

Find your User Profile Service application, click it (I usually save this in favorites on the Central Admin front page).

Synchronization -> Configuration Synchronization Connections

Select the connection for your domain, Edit.

Type the password for your profile sync account into the password boxes, and hit Populate Containers. Verify that you have the right OUs selected for this synchronization connection. You'll probably want to leave the connection on the old OU so that you don't inadvertently kill off profiles/mysites for users that haven't been moved yet, if that applies.

share|improve this answer
    
One note that I discovered the hard way - Don't try to set up multiple connections to the same domain in order to encapsulate different OUs in different connections - it doesn't work. You can only have one connection per domain. –  Drew Lanclos Mar 12 '13 at 14:27
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.