Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have few short questions about relations between "My Site" and UP/UPSync services.

  1. Can I, normally, use User profile service without having My Site configured?
  2. Can I, normally, use User profile sync service without having My Site configured?
  3. If answer to above questions is "Yes", can I (in case that I have already configured "My Site" web app with some sync-ed data), just delete this "My Site" web app without bad influence on user profile data (will existing data will be preserved)?

Basically, I need to preserve that my UP and UPSync services continue work normally and that my UP data (part of properties are custom ones) remain untouched by My Site removal. Is that possible?

share|improve this question
    
Just a question: Why do you want to delete the MySite app? –  AlexPoint Jan 17 '12 at 14:10
    
I provide user info via custom web parts, and there is no need anymore for MySite forms. Other reasons are: i can keep some additional space on file system/DB/memory, I can restrict users to only my forms, I can save some of my time by avoiding to write user manual for that parts ;), ... –  trip Jan 17 '12 at 14:43
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Ok thats fine. However, since you have already created the MySite host I suggest to restrict the "Create MySite" permission. So you can keep the web app, keep all features that might be tied to it AND you keep your users away from using/creating/playing around with their MySites. In addition, if you deside (some day) to use MySites, you don't have to struggle with the re-provision.

To disable MySite creation for your users see here:

share|improve this answer
    
Agreed, this is the way to go. We don't use the MySites but we keep everything installed and provisioned but redirect to our own pages and Web Parts. –  MichaelF Jan 17 '12 at 16:20
    
Also, rather than delete the web app, just restrict permissions to it in the My SIte Settings. –  Matthew McDermott Jan 17 '12 at 20:23
    
Thanx guys! I didn't get absolutely precise answers to my questions (which should be useful to someone someday) but this should be solution good enough for me. –  trip Jan 18 '12 at 9:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.