SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Web applications using CMA (Classic Mode Authentication) need to be setup with different Zones if it is to accommodate different types of CMA methods. This is called 'extending a web application'. In web apps using CBA (Claims Based Authentication), how do you allow for multiple authentication methods, as you do not have to 'extend it'?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

If you already created a webapplication with claim based authentication.

  • Open Central Administration
  • Go to the webapplication list en select your webapplication
  • In the ribbon - click Authentication providers

Here you can enable Win authentication, FBA and anonymous access

share|improve this answer

When I enable both {NTLM,forms} This causes my web service calls to throw 401 unauthorized error codes. If I disable forms then all webservices calls work.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.