I have a workflow on a document library I created in SharePoint Designer 2007. The workflow will pause for a long period, perhaps 90 days or more).
What happens to the workflow if the document is deleted in the mean time?
I don't think this is actually the answer. In SharePoint 2013 I create an item that starts a workflow that immediately pauses for 5 minutes, then sends an email. If I delete the item before the 5 minute pause completes, the workflow still wakes up and sends a blank email. Bizarre...