Take the 2-minute tour ×
SharePoint Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for SharePoint enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can anybody explain why on some sites, if I go to edit (in SharePoint Designer) a page layout deployed via a feature, I get prompted with the "Saving your changes will customize a page from the site definition" message, but on other sites I don't? What is the deciding factor here?

The differences between the 2 particular sites in question are that one was deployed and instantiated from scratch with a custom site definition (plus activated features). It is that site where I get the message. The other site has been created via a content database restore originally from another farm. I have created new page layouts and deployed them in to the restored site and I still do not get prompted with this message if I edit the file in SPD. I want this message to be displayed to (1) deter users from updating the page layouts in SPD and (2) allow me to see which files have been edited so that I know that I need to bring the changes back in to my VS solution and then "Reset to Site Definition" in SPD, and then redeploy my solutions/features.

I hope this makes sense. I'm guessing that site collections created from a restored database cannot use uncustomised (ghosted) files but I'm hoping someone can dismiss this idea and provide a solution?

share|improve this question
add comment

closed as too localized by Anders Rask Jun 1 '11 at 17:45

This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.